Posted On: 11/25/18 8:49 PM

Iowa, home of the “No Coast”, these athletes didn’t grow up on the beaches playing volleyball, but rather their youth programs in their hometowns and local clubs.  Iowa has always been known to produce some top players, with the typical Midwest work ethic, but there are athlete who have made their name on the national team. Haley Eckerman of Waterloo East High School would go on to win a national title for Texas, and has since returned to Waterloo to coach at West High School.  Mikaela Foecke of West Point, Iowa and Holy Trinity High School is finishing her Senior year at Nebraska with already having two national titles in her possessions.

There is the main stay, the tradition, the program that always finds a way to get it done and make a dent in the postseason in Northern Iowa.  Always known for solid all around players from the top large and small schools in Iowa, Coach Bobbi Petersen has 13 players on her roster, which includes her daughter Baylee.  Her other daughter and Baylee’s twin, Sydney, will be playing in the tournament for Texas. Northern Iowa has another family connection on the team with Assistant Coach Kalani Mahi, and his daughter Tayah who is a Freshman on the team.

Here is another fun fact – Dike-New Hartford High School has five athletes playing in the tournament.

Here is the full list of athletes from Iowa who will be with their teams in the “Big Dance”.

Northern Iowa

Lexi Astor – Fort Dodge

Kendyl Sorge – Janesville

Baylee Petersen – Dike-New Hartford

Tayah Mahi – Cedar Falls

Karlie Taylor – Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont

Kate Busswitz – Cedar Rapids Prairie

Inga Rotto – Gilbert

Rachel Koop – Dike-New Hartford

Carly Spies – Linn-Mar

Jaydlin Seehase – Sumner-Fredricksburg

Piper Thomas – Jesup

Taylor Hedges – Dike-New Hartford

Jamie Sindlinger – Charles City



Hannah Lockin – West Des Moines Valley



Jaali Winters – Ankeny Centennial

Samantha Bohnet – Council Bluffs Abraham Lincoln

Megan Sharkey – Bettendorf

Megan Ballenger – Ankeny



Ellie Anderson – Linn-Mar

Lauren McManus – Waterloo Columbus


Eastern Michigan

Jordan Smith – Solon


Illinois State

Taylor Lynch – Cedar Falls

Kendal Meier – Cedar Rapids Kennedy


Florida State

Taryn Knuth – Johnston



Brooke Morgan – Dike-New Hartford (in title picture)



Riley Sents – Grundy Center

Kylie Deberg – Hudson



Mikaela Foecke – Holy Trinity


South Dakota

Claire Gerdes – Cedar Falls

Jenna Wagemester – Cedar Rapid Prairie

Hayley Dotseth – Johnston

Lolo Weideman – Center Point-Urbana



Sydney Peterson – Dike-New Hartford


Washington State

Abby Phillips – Marion